October Project of the Month – Christmas Cards

Here are my 2016 Christmas cards.  I used a variety of products and techniques this year.

Starting in the upper left corner I used the double layering technique with a stamp set called Peaceful Pinecones.  It was super easy and one of my favorites.  Below that I played with my Misti to position pine trees from the Joyful Christmas stamp set in a variety of colors.  Both stamp sets are from PaperTrey Ink (https://www.papertreyink.com/stamps/peaceful-pinecones-stamp-set/).

In the top right is a patchwork Christmas tree I made using a variety of patterned glitter papers that I punched out using the top of the Stampin Up Christmas tree punch.  I adhered them to white card stock and then embossed the front.  Of all my cards this was the easiest and most effective.  The red star and the Joy were die cut from red foil paper (all from Stampin’ Up).

On the bottom are two cards I printed with my computer onto with cardstock.  Once in red and again in green.  I cut the card stock in half horizontally and repositioned on my card front.  I then embossed the card front with snowflakes and added sequins.

The cards above were all done with a combination of my Silhouette Cameo and Stampin’ Up Die Cuts (for the ornaments, Joy and the bow).  With embossing on the white card stock and sentiments from Stampin’ Up Word Play (tidings of comfort & Joy) and Wondrous Wreath (Happy Wonderful Christmas).

Above are three cards I made using the Stampin’ Up bird punch and some die cuts from my Silhouette cameo for the trees and the window.  I’m still in love with this punch.

For these last three cards I used some techniques from Jennifer McQuire.  I’m sorry to say that my results were nowhere near as beautiful as hers but I wanted to try her techniques for heat embossing.  For the Merry cards I embossed Stampin’ Up Seasonally Scattered with white embossing powder on red card stock and with red embossing powder on white card stock.  I cut the card stock horizontally and the repositioned on the front of my cards.  For the Noel Wreathe I tried layered gold embossing powder and was very disappointed in my results.  But hey.  At least I tried.

So here is the whole gallery of cards for this year.  It was fun to try new techniques and some I will definitely be using again for cards throughout the new year.

Leave a Reply

